Finding Fulfillment

In a job.

I’m not in my dream job, not yet. And I don’t know if I’ll ever be in that title, but I can still do what I love.

My actual dream job is a Registered Nurse in the NICU. That’s what I’d love to do. Whether or not I’ll ever make it there, I don’t know. I don’t know if I’m smart enough to score high enough to even get into a good nursing program.

But in the mean time, I can still do what I love, and where my heart’s passion lies: helping people.

I want to make an actual difference in people’s lives. I have my CNA right now, and I’m in the process of applying for jobs right now.

I would like to volunteer at the Children’s Mercy hospital, or with a fire department at some point in the near future. It’s not about the money, it’s about helping people because I care.

I don’t know who said it, or the exact words but if you find a job you love doing, it’s like not working a day in your life.

Sure, we need money to get by. But if you’re in the position to have the job you want, something you’re truly passionate about, good for you. I know that’s not always possible.

But for me? It is. I have no one depending on me. I can afford to take a pay cut, lose the benefits of my job, etc. But I know a lot of single moms who cannot afford a pay cut, who need those benefits. They have children depending on them, and despite really not liking their job, they have to stay.

I don’t want to end up there. I know what I want to do with my life, and I want to start doing it now.

3 Comments

  1. Pingback: Poem / Poetry – “Do Whatever Works For You” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

tell me your thoughts!

