Babies

Everybody havin’ babies.

No joke, it seems like every week Facebook friends of mine are announcing “we’re pregnant!” and then the next 9 months I have weekly updates of their pregnancy. The first signs of the baby bump, the craving announcements, then the second trimester update, the half way there posts- you know what I’m talking about.

Everybody on social media knows what I’m talking about. They’re either being constantly updated, such as I, or the ones posting it.

And then there’s the newborn baby pictures. Really? You seriously gotta post twenty damn pictures of your baby sleeping? In the same position. Every day? Is that necessary? We all get it! Your baby sleeps. And you change his outfits. Happy day.

Or the constant month-by-month photos- those are fine. But then there’s the same pose, same thing, every week. Just stop.

Out of all the new mothers on my Facebook, there’s one who’s kid I love seeing. She posts pictures of him doing everything different. Sandbox photos, sledding- not the same ol’ “oh look baby eating cheerios for the umpteenth time!”

I love babies, I really do. I just find it annoying new moms have to post sooo frequently about every little thing.

But back to the same picture of your baby- I guess that’s to be expected when all these new moms every do is post the same photo of themselves. Their head cocked to the left- to the right. Oh, let’s go straight on. You know what I’m talking about.

I don’t even post a picture of myself on my Instagram account daily, weekly, and I change my Facebook profile picture once every several months.

I know, I could delete these mothers off my page, and not be annoyed. But outside of the annoying baby posts, I do like these ladies. (Well there was one I had to finally delete because she was constantly whining over everything- her job, her pregnancy, her family, her on-off boyfriend, blah blah blah.)

I just don’t understand the need to announce every itsy bitsy thing about your pregnancy/baby to the world.

2 Comments

  1. I did the same thing with my first baby. well i didn’t post it anywhere i don’t even know if facebook was around 10 years ago . But anyway i did take five million of the same pics . You learn later on that you don’t need to do that

    Like

    • Thanks for reading and taking the time to comment!
      I don’t mind so much the over-eager photo-snapping parents so much as the parents who flood your news feed of the same pictures. Like, the parents are the only ones who really enjoy them; Facebook friends don’t want to see basically the same picture 5+ times a week.

      Like

tell me your thoughts!

