Words Not Forgotten

And probably never will be.

Okay, so technically I wrote my previous post yesterday, and just got to the library today. So I’m doing day two of this writing challenge. It goes as follows: Write something that someone told you about yourself that you never forgot.

It was two summers ago, and I was seeing John Doe. We went out to eat at a Mexican restaurant a few miles down from his house, and I was telling him about my dreams, wanting to be an RN in the NICU. I confessed to him how my own older sister told me it’s too hard, and I wouldn’t be able to handle it.

He looked dead at me, stared into my eyes, and said, “Fuck that. If it’s what you want to do, do it. I know you can.”

And just having his support back then, made me stronger. Here was someone who had known me for only a few months, and yet he saw the strength in me to be able to handle something so emotionally breaking as working with babies who may or may not live; who fight for their life alongside dozens of other babies.

I’ve since had a few others, my nurses where I work now, tell me I can handle it. Because “you’ve got a strong heart, and you care.”

I wish my own sister could see the strength these others see in me. Or maybe she’s right, and they’re wrong. Either me, I know the only way to find out is to reach my dream.

And no matter what damage John Doe did to my heart, his support and encouragement truly touched me. And maybe it’s because they came from him I’ll never forgot them. Regardless, he believed in me. And it helped me believe in me.

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Day 2 of 30 day challenge | What do you do??

tell me your thoughts!

