Those I Admire

My parents.

Day four is write about someone who inspires you.

That’d be my parents. For one, they’ve been married twenty-five and a half years, and have raised nine children together, and dealt with the death of their 10th, the youngest, and somehow still managed to make things work in this divorce-crazed world.

My mom is a pretty wonderful woman; caring, understanding, always willing to listen. She doesn’t yell, or raise her voice. She doesn’t speak in anger. She is a stay-at-home-mom, and for those who judge that, it is not easy. It’s constant work, and if you think raising two kids is hard, imagine nine kids. And homeschooling them. Imagine the laundry, the mess, the cooking- a live-in nanny, maid, nurse- name it, and a stay-at-home-mom does it. The difference between a career mom and a stay-at-home-mom is the career mom gets paid, and is away from her kids for 8-9 days a day, losing time spent with her kids. The real winner is the stay-at-home mom. (In my opinion…)

My dad is a pretty awesome man; he’ll bend over backwards to help someone in need. He worked two jobs (one full-time, one part-time) for a few years, and would come home, and all us kids would flock around him. Looking back, I know he was exhausted, but he still sat down and played with us. Whether it was piggy-back rides, or bike rides, he always made time for us.

Both my parents love and listen without judgment. They understand they have to let their children go and trust they raised us to do the right thing. They respect us; they have given, and continue to give.

They inspire me to be a better person. To be more like them both. They’ve helped me tremendously in becoming the person I am (the good part of me), they support my dreams.

I’m just glad I have them both, together. Not everyone has two wonderful parents, and I am incredibly grateful that I do, and they’re still together. I know they’re not perfect, nor is their marriage. But I had to choose who inspires me, and I chose them.

tell me your thoughts!

