I Told Him

My suspicions.

I couldn’t not tell my boyfriend that I had two positive pregnancy tests, and was late in starting my period. Plus, I was going to the crisis pregnancy center down from me, and he’d find out anyway.

So after work last night, I started talking to him. I joked about my co-worker being pregnant (I actually think she might be…and she’s wondering herself), and he asked if she’s going to buy a test. I told him I didn’t know, but that I had.

He kind of paused and goes, “You did?”

“Yes.”

He says “oh.” Then looks at me and says, “I thought you just had your period.”

I look away. “No. I thought I had started but…I didn’t.”

He looks at me again. “Oh.” Then, what he calls jokingly, but what I consider a total asshole thing to do, “is it some guy’s?”

I glared at him. “Did you seriously just ask me that?”

“I was joking!”

I called him an asshole.

I asked if he was mad.

He said no.

He asked where does that leave us? Do I still want him to move out?

I told him I don’t want him to stay with me because of a baby. I would never deny him his child (unless he was abusive, mistreated the child, etc, you know all the bad things), but I also don’t want to be with someone for a child. I mean, I know it’s best a child is raised with both parents. But if we stay together for this reason alone, it could lead to resentment. And while I never want to get divorced, I also don’t want to jump into a marriage that could just lead to total destruction.

I also told him that I don’t want him staying if he wants to move out. If he does stay, we need a bigger place. Because I need more space.

Anyway.

Overall, he said he wished it would have been a year from now, but if I am pregnant, he is excited.

And I have an appointment with the crisis pregnancy center tomorrow before work.

2 Comments

tell me your thoughts!

