5 Year Journal| Day 55

Whose life did you make a difference in today?

It’s my job to help my residents, it’s what I’m there to do, and I don’t think anything of it. But it really means the world to them when you help them, especially when you’re friendly.

I had helped give a lady her shower, and helped her dress after. When she no longer needed my help, I told her I’d see her later, but just hit her button if she needs anything else.

She thanked me deeply, saying how sweet I am. I felt awkward, and said, laughingly, “I try!”

Sometimes just talking to the elderly, smiling and laughing, makes the biggest difference. I love helping them, but when they thank me, I feel awkward.

I doubt I made a life-long difference, but for the day, or even just the morning, I made a difference.

tell me your thoughts!

